Universities in Israel

  • Bar-Ilan University (BIU), Ramat Gan
    The University, founded in 1955, comprises the Faculties of Natural Sciences, Life Sciences, the Humanities and Social Sciences, Jewish Studies, and the Department of Law. Bar-Ilan houses the largest Israeli Schools of Education and Social Work, as well as one of the best faculties of Jewish Studies worldwide.
  • Ben-Gurion University of the Negev (BGU), Beer Sheva
    Israel's newest university was founded in 1969 at Beer Sheva. Currently it is an important center of science and research, comprising faculties for the Humanities and Social Sciences, Health Sciences, Engineering, and Natural Sciences. The focus is on desert research, biotechnology, nano science, water research, and water technology.
  • Technion, Haifa
    The Technion was already founded in 1912, but started its academic and research program first in 1924. It comprises 18 faculties with 40 research centers and institutes for technical, natural science, and medical subjects. The Technion is the dominant training and research facility in Israel.
  • Tel Aviv University (TAU), Tel Aviv
    The University in Tel Aviv was founded in 1956 and comprises nine faculties, namely Engineering, Mathematics and Natural Sciences, Bio Sciences, Medicine, Humanities, Law, Social Sciences, Art, and Management. The main focuses of TAU are on nano science, biophysics, bioinformation technology, stem cell research, and renewable energy.
  • The Hebrew University of Jerusalem (HUJI), Jerusalem
    The HUJI was founded in 1918. It comprises seven faculties covering all relevant areas of science, 12 academic and about 100 research institutes. It has a number of centers of excellence and is ranked as one of the 100 best universities in the world. 30% of all civilian scientific research at Israeli universities and research facilities is conducted at the HUJI.
  • University of Haifa, Haifa
    The University of Haifa was founded in 1963. It currently accommodates six faculties: The Humanities, Social Sciences, Mathematics, Education, Law, Social Work and Health, as well as Natural Sciences and Science Education.
  • Weizmann Institute of Science (WIS), Rehovot
    The research institute was founded in 1934 as the Daniel Sieff Institute and ranks among the leading institutions worldwide in respect of fundamental research in all areas of natural and exact sciences. The WIS comprises five faculties: Mathematics, Information Science, Physics, Chemistry, Biochemistry and Biology.
  • Open University of Israel
    The distance learning University of Israel was founded in 1976 and offers a range of subjects comparable to those offered at the country's other universities. The degrees awarded are a Bachelor (B.A.), a Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.) and a Master (M.A.).

Universitäten in Israel

  • Bar-Ilan University (BIU), Ramat Gan
    Die 1955 gegründete Universität umfasst die Fakultäten für Naturwissenschaften, Lebens-, Geistes-, und Sozialwissenschaften, Jüdische Studien und Rechtswissenschaften. An der BIU sind die größten israelischen Schulen für Erziehung und Sozialarbeit sowie eine der weltweit besten Fakultäten für Jüdische Studien beheimatet.
  • Ben-Gurion University of the Negev (BGU), Beer Sheva
    Israels jüngste Universität wurde 1969 in Beer Sheva gegründet. Heute ist sie ein bedeutendes Zentrum für Lehre und Forschung und umfasst Fakultäten für Human- und Sozialwissenschaften, Gesundheits-, Ingenieur- und Naturwissenschaften. Schwerpunkte sind Wüstenforschung, Biotechnologie, Nanowissenschaften sowie Wasserforschung und Wassertechnologien.
  • Technion, Haifa
    Das Technion wurde 1912 gegründet, nahm allerdings erst 1924 den Lehr- und Forschungsbetrieb auf. Heute beherbergt es 18 Fakultäten mit 40 Forschungszentren und Instituten für technische, naturwissenschaftliche und medizinische Fächer. In den Ingenieurwissenschaften ist das Technion die dominierende Ausbildungs- und Forschungseinrichtung Israels.
  • Tel Aviv University (TAU), Tel Aviv
    Die Universität in Tel Aviv wurde 1956 gegründet und umfasst neun Fakultäten: Ingenieurwissenschaften, Mathematik und Naturwissenschaften, Biowissenschaften, Medizin, Geisteswissenschaften, Jura, Sozialwissenschaften, Kunst und Management. Besonders geförderte Schwerpunkte an der TAU sind Nanowissenschaften, Biophysik, Bioinformatik, Stammzellenforschung und erneuerbare Energien.
  • The Hebrew University of Jerusalem (HUJI), Jerusalem
    Die Hebräische Universität Jerusalem wurde 1918 gegründet. Sie umfasst sieben Fakultäten zu allen relevanten Wissenschaftsbereichen, 12 Lehr- und ca. 100 Forschungsinstitute. Sie verfügt über mehrere Exzellenzzentren und gehört zu den besten 100 Universitäten der Welt. 30 Prozent der zivilen wissenschaftlichen Forschung der Universitäten und Forschungseinrichtungen Israels wird an der HUJI durchgeführt.
  • University of Haifa, Haifa
    Die Universität Haifa wurde 1963 gegründet. Heute zählt sie sechs Fakultäten: Geisteswissenschaften, Sozialwissenschaften und Mathematik, Erziehungswissenschaften, Rechtswissenschaften, Sozialarbeit und Gesundheitswesen sowie Naturwissenschaften und naturwissenschaftliche Pädagogik.
  • Weizmann Institute of Science (WIS), Rehovot
    Die Forschungseinrichtung wurde 1934 als Daniel Sieff-Institut gegründet und zählt heute zu den weltweit führenden Institutionen für Grundlagenforschung in allen Bereichen der Naturwissenschaften und der exakten Wissenschaften. Das WIS umfasst fünf Fakultäten: Mathematik und Informatik, Physik, Chemie, Biochemie sowie Biologie.
  • Open University of Israel
    Die Fernuniversität Israels existiert seit 1976 und bietet eine den anderen Universitäten des Landes vergleichbare Bandbreite von Studienfächern. Mögliche Abschlüsse sind Bachelor (B.A.), Bachelor of Science (BSc.) und Master (M.A.).