Interministerial Cooperation Initiatives

The Federal Ministry of Education and Research has cooperated with the Israeli research ministry for decades. The Israeli ministry of economy is another close partner in the industry-led cooperation.

From the German side, the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) is the main driver of the scientific cooperation between the German and the Israeli governments. Responsible are several specialist departments. On the Israeli side, there are two main counterparts for BMBF: the Ministry of Science, Technology and Space (MOST) and the Ministry of Economy (until 2013 the Ministry of Industry, Trade and Labor, MOITAL). The BMBF and MOST’s German-Israeli research cooperation is based on a 1973 agreement. After an agreement in 2000, the interministerial cooperation between the BMBF and MOITAL was extended to include bilateral industrial cooperation. In June 2011, the then Federal Government minister of research, Annette Schavan, and Shalom Simhon, the Israeli minister of Industry, signed an intergovernmental agreement on industry-led research and development, as well as on vocational training and advanced education. The funding of projects in the natural sciences and engineering occurs within the framework of bilateral tenders. The supported projects are very application-oriented. 

Cooperation projects between universities and research institutions are promoted in coordination with MOST and are largely financed by the BMBF. The cooperation between industry partners is equally financed by the BMBF and the programmes of the Office of the Chief Scientist (OCS) of MOITAL. The BMBF finances both programmes from the various BMBF specialist programmes’ funding initiatives. In principle, the ministries favor specialist programmes in line with MOITAL and MOST interests. The research results are presented in numerous scientific publications and made accessible to the public by way of status conferences.

The coordination of the interministerial research is the responsibility of a joint committee of representatives from all the relevant ministries and national authorities; it meets annually, alternately in Germany and Israel. On a professional scientific level, steering committees, which make recommendations to fund projects and assess results, support the cooperation. Further, the steering committees strengthen and coordinate the bilateral cooperation, also within the European platforms in which both countries participate, such as FP7/Horizon 2020, EUREKA or Eurostars.

The BMBF Website provides information about new developments of the German-Israeli research cooperation.

Interministerielle Kooperationsvorhaben

Seit Jahrzehnten kooperiert das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung mit dem israelischen Forschungsministerium. In der industriegeführten Kooperation ist das israelische Wirtschaftsministerium ein weiterer enger Partner.

Die wissenschaftliche Zusammenarbeit zwischen der deutschen und der israelischen Regierung wird auf deutscher Seite hauptsächlich vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) getragen. Zuständig für die Kooperationsvorhaben sind die jeweiligen Fachabteilungen. Dem BMBF stehen auf israelischer Seite vor allem zwei Counterparts gegenüber: Das Ministerium für Wissenschaft, Technologie und Raumfahrt (MOST) und das Ministerium für Wirtschaft (bis 2013 Ministerium für Industrie, Handel und Arbeit, MOITAL). Die deutsch-israelische Forschungszusammenarbeit von BMBF und dem MOST basiert auf einer Vereinbarung von 1973. Seit dem Jahr 2000 wurde die interministerielle Kooperation durch eine Vereinbarung zwischen dem BMBF und MOITAL auf bilaterale Industriekooperationen ausgeweitet. Im Juni 2011 wurde von der damaligen Bundesforschungsministerin Annette Schavan und dem israelischen Industrieminister Shalom Simhon ein Regierungsabkommen zu industriegeführter Forschung und Entwicklung sowie zur beruflichen Aus- und Weiterbildung unterzeichnet. Die Förderung von Projekten in den Natur- und Technikwissenschaften erfolgt im Rahmen von bilateralen Ausschreibungen. Die geförderten Vorhaben sind stark anwendungsorientiert.

Kooperationsprojekte zwischen Universitäten und Forschungseinrichtungen werden in Zusammenarbeit mit dem MOST gefördert und größtenteils vom BMBF finanziert. Die Finanzierung von Kooperationen zwischen Industriepartnern wird zu gleichen Teilen vom BMBF und von den Programmen des Office of the Chief Scientist (OCS) des MOITAL getragen. Von Seiten des BMBF erfolgt die Finanzierung beider Programme aus den Förderinitiativen der einzelnen BMBF-Fachprogramme. Dabei werden von den Ministerien grundsätzlich solche Themen berücksichtigt, die auch im Rahmen von BMBF-Fachprogrammen gefördert werden und den Interessen von MOITAL und MOST entsprechen. Die Ergebnisse der Forschungsarbeiten werden in zahlreichen wissenschaftlichen Veröffentlichungen dargestellt und durch Statuskonferenzen der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich gemacht.

Die Koordinierung der interministeriellen Forschungszusammenarbeit obliegt einem gemeinsamen Ausschuss aus Vertretungen aller beteiligten Ministerien und nationalen Behörden; er tagt einmal jährlich alternierend in Deutschland oder Israel. Auf fachwissenschaftlicher Ebene werden die Kooperationen von Lenkungsausschüssen begleitet, die Empfehlungen zur Förderung von Projekten aussprechen und Ergebnisse begutachten. Die Lenkungsausschüsse stärken und koordinieren darüber hinaus die bilaterale Kooperation auch innerhalb europäischer Plattformen, an denen beide Länder teilnehmen, wie beispielsweise FP7/Horizon 2020, EUREKA oder Eurostars.

Über neueste Entwicklungen der deutsch-israelischen Forschungszusammenarbeit informiert das BMBF auf seinen Webseiten.