Minerva

The Minerva Foundation is a subsidiary of the Max Planck Foundation. It has supported German-Israeli cooperation for more than 50 years. Over the decades, several programme lines have emerged, comprising individual and institutional funding activities.

A meeting between scientists of the Max-Planck Society (MPG) and the Weizman Institute (WIS) already led to a scientific exchange between Germany and Israel in 1959. Subsequent to this meeting, chancellor Konrad Adenauer, after a talk with the Israeli premier David Ben-Gurion in New York, donated DM 3 million (EUR 1.53 million) to the WIS on 14 March 1960. This marked the beginning of extensive support for science in Israel.

Minerva-Weizmann project support
A further agreement in 1963 provided support for scientific projects, initially through the Volkswagen Foundation’s contribution of DM 2 million (EUR 1.02 million). In 1964, within the framework of the first Minerva agreement with the WIS, the then federal research ministry took over the financing of 19 physics and biology projects amounting to DM 3 million annually. Currently, the Minerva-Weizmann programme, which has an annual budget of more than EUR 3.5 million, supports projects in all areas of the natural sciences.

The Minerva-Weizmann committee, which is equally composed of scientists from Germany and the WIS, assesses project proposals. Its specific programme objectives include cooperation with German research partners and the promotion of junior scientists. Junior scientists from Germany have been able to directly apply for a short stay to work on ongoing projects since 2008.

Minerva science centres
Since 1975, Minerva research centres, which conduct top level research in cooperation with German scientists, have been funded at Israeli universities and WIS. These centres have become an important part of the Israeli researchscape and cover bio- and geosciences, chemistry, information technology, computer science, environmental studies, law, literature, as well as religious and historical studies. In February 2015, on her travel to Israel on the occasion of the celebrations to mark the 50th anniversary of German-Israeli diplomatic relations German minister of Education and Research Johanna Wanka opened the two latest Minerva research centres.

The research centres are equally financed by revenue from the long-term endowment (EUR 72 million in 2014) that the German Federal Ministry for Education and Research provided and applies in Israel, and an own contribution by the recipient Israeli research institution amounting to the annual investment capital (matching funds).

The Minerva Foundation has appointed a central committee for the coordination and overall supervision of the centres. This committee comprises internationally renowned scientists of all subject areas, as well as with external experts responsible for the selection and evaluation of potentially new centres and for the regular evaluation of existing ones. Since a 2011 reform, the centre programmes are geared even stronger towards competitive processes.

Minerva Fellowships
The Minerva Fellowship programme is the oldest existing programme promoting German-Israeli cooperation. It started in the winter of 1961/62, with the first German guest scientists resident at the Weizmann Institute. Between 1964 and 1973, it was extended with the aid of the Volkswagen Foundation, allowing the first Israeli postdoctoral students to attend the German Max Planck Institute. The Federal Research Ministry’s financing of the programme allowed Israeli universities to be included in the exchange programme.

Up to 2010, the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) had supported long-term research stays of approximately 1,000 Israeli and as many German scientists at a cost of EUR 40 million. The Fellowship programme currently provides EUR 1.2 million annually for 50 junior scientist fellowships from both countries. Minerva fellowships are open to all subject areas. Doctoral and postdoctoral candidates are preferred. The duration of the funding is normally six month to two years and up to a maximum of three years for doctoral candidates. Short-term Minerva fellowships of one week up to eight weeks provide junior German and Israeli scientists with an opportunity to make their first contact with partners in the host country. They also allow for participation in seminars and workshops.

Minerva Schools
1997 saw the introduction of Minerva Schools with the numbers increasing to 30 by 2010. The Schools aim at enabling advanced students in all science areas to make their first contact with the partner country while still studying. Promising students are brought together with outstanding Israeli and German representatives of their disciplines for meetings lasting several days.

Further information can be found on the programme’s web pages.

Gentner Symposia
The Gentner symposia, supported since 1972, are named after Wolfgang Gentner, a German initiator of scientific cooperation with Israel. These larger conferences are held in all areas of research and are financed with up to EUR 30,000 from the Minerva Fellowship programme funds. Highly qualified junior scientists also participate in these symposia. The Minerva Fellowship Committee, represented equally by German and Israeli scientists, allocates fellowships.

ARCHES prize
The BMBF has awarded the ARCHES prize (Award for Research Cooperation and Highest Excellence in Science) since 2008. The Minerva Stiftung GmbH. administers the specification and selection process. The prize of EUR 400,000 is awarded annually to two German-Israeli teams of junior scientists (no older than 40). The prize is alternately awarded for research in the areas of natural science, engineering, life sciences, and the humanities.
Inclusion in the selection process is dependent on being nominated by a renowned expert in the respective field. The Fellowship Committee is responsible for the selection.

Minerva

Die Minerva Stiftung GmbH ist eine Tochter der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft. Seit über 50 Jahren trägt sie die deutsch-israelische Kooperation. Über die Jahrzehnte entstanden mehrere Programmlinien, die sowohl Individual- als auch institutionelle Fördermaßnahmen umfassen.

Bereits 1959 führte ein Treffen zwischen Wissenschaftlern der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft (MPG) und dem Weizmann Institut of Science (WIS) zur Aufnahme des wissenschaftlichen Austausches zwischen Deutschland und Israel. Im Anschluss an dieses Treffen, am 14. März 1960 kündigte Bundeskanzler Konrad Adenauer nach einem Gespräch mit dem israelischen Ministerpräsidenten David Ben-Gurion in New York eine 3-Millionen-DM-Spende (1,53 Millionen Euro) für das WIS an. Sie markierte den Beginn einer umfangreichen Wissenschaftsförderung in Israel.

Minerva-Weizmann-Projektförderung
Eine weitere Vereinbarung im Jahre 1963 sah die Förderung von wissenschaftlichen Projekten vor, und zwar zunächst durch eine Zuwendung der Volkswagen-Stiftung in Höhe von 2 Millionen DM (1,02 Millionen Euro). Ab 1964 übernahm dann das damalige Bundesforschungsministerium im Rahmen des ersten Minerva-Vertrages mit dem WIS die Finanzierung von 19 Projekten aus Physik und Biologie mit jährlich 3,5 Millionen DM. Heute werden in dem Minerva-Weizmann-Programm mit einem Jahresetat von über 3,5 Millionen Euro Projekte auf allen Gebieten der Naturwissenschaften gefördert.

Projektanträge werden vom Minerva-Weizmann-Komitee begutachtet, das paritätisch mit Wissenschaftlern aus Deutschland und vom WIS besetzt ist. Zu den ausdrücklichen Programmzielen gehören die Kooperation mit deutschen Forschungspartnern und die Förderung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses. Seit 2008 können sich junge Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus Deutschland direkt bei den laufenden Projekten um einen Kurzaufenthalt bewerben.

Minerva-Forschungszentren
Seit 1975 werden an den israelischen Universitäten und dem WIS Minerva-Forschungszentren gefördert, die Spitzenforschung in Kooperation mit deutschen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern betreiben. Das wissenschaftliche Spektrum der Zentren, die inzwischen ein wichtiger Bestandteil der israelischen Forschungslandschaft geworden sind, umfasst neben Bio- und Geowissenschaften, Chemie, Informatik, Computerwissenschaften und Umweltforschung auch Rechts- und Literaturwissenschaften sowie Religions-und Geschichtswissenschaften. Bei ihrem letzten Besuch in Israel hat Bundesministerin Johanna Wanka im Februar 2015 die Gründung zweier neuer Forschungszentren bekanntgegeben.

Die Forschungszentren finanzieren sich zu gleichen Teilen aus den Erträgen von langfristig in Israel angelegtem und vom deutschen Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung zur Verfügung gestelltem Stiftungskapital (72 Millionen Euro, Stand 2014) sowie durch einen Eigenbeitrag der begünstigten israelischen Forschungseinrichtung in Höhe der jährlichen Kapitalerträge („matching funds“).

Zur Koordinierung und übergreifenden Supervision der Zentren hat die Minerva Stiftung ein Zentrenkomitee eingesetzt. Es ist aus international anerkannten Wissenschaftlern aller Fachgebiete zusammengesetzt, die zusammen mit externen Gutachtern für die Auswahl und Begutachtung von neu beantragten Zentren sowie für die regelmäßige Evaluierung der bestehenden Zentren verantwortlich sind. Seit einer Reform von 2011 ist das Zentrenprogramm noch stärker an kompetitiven Verfahren ausgerichtet.

Minerva-Stipendien
Das Minerva-Stipendien-Programm ist das älteste der existierenden Programme zur Förderung der deutsch-israelischen Zusammenarbeit. Es begann im Winter 1961/62 mit dem Aufenthalt erster deutscher Gastwissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftler am WIS. Zwischen 1964 und 1973 wurde es mithilfe der Volkswagen-Stiftung erweitert, so dass die ersten israelischen Postdoktorandinnen und -doktoranden an deutsche Max-Planck-Institute gehen konnten. Die Finanzierung des Programms durch das Bundesforschungsministerium ermöglichte schließlich die Einbeziehung der israelischen Universitäten in das Austauschprogramm.

Bis 2010 förderte das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) mit insgesamt 40 Millionen Euro längerfristige Forschungsaufenthalte von rund 1000 israelischen und ebenso vielen deutschen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern. Das Stipendienprogramm stellt inzwischen jedes Jahr 1,2 Millionen Euro für rund 50 Jahresstipendien bereit, die an junge Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus beiden Ländern vergeben werden. Minerva-Stipendien stehen Forschenden aller Fachrichtungen offen. Vorrangig werden Doktoranden und Postdoktoranden gefördert. Die Förderungsdauer beträgt in der Regel sechs Monate bis zwei Jahre, für Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden bis maximal drei Jahre. Minerva-Kurzzeitstipendien zwischen einer Woche und acht Wochen geben überdies jungen deutschen und israelischen Nachwuchsforscherinnen und -forschern die Möglichkeit zur ersten Kontaktaufnahme mit Partnern im Gastland. Auch die Teilnahme an Seminaren und Workshops wird ermöglicht.

Minerva-Schulen
1997 wurde mit der Einrichtung von Minerva-Schulen begonnen; bis 2010 ist ihre Zahl auf 30 angewachsen. Die Schulen dienen dem Ziel, fortgeschrittenen Studierenden in allen Wissenschaftsbereichen erste Kontakte ins Partnerland bereits während des Studiums zu ermöglichen. Dabei werden vielversprechende Studierende mit hervorragenden Vertretern ihres Fachgebietes aus beiden Ländern zu mehrtägigen Begegnungen zusammengebracht.

Weitere Informationen finden sich auf den Webseiten des Programms.

Gentner-Symposien
Die seit 1972 geförderten Gentner-Symposien sind nach Wolfgang Gentner, einem der deutschen Initiatoren der wissenschaftlichen Kooperation mit Israel, benannt. Diese größeren Konferenzen werden auf allen Gebieten der Forschung abgehalten und mit bis zu 30.000 Euro aus Mitteln des Stipendienprogramms finanziert. Auch an diesen Symposien beteiligen sich besonders qualifizierte wissenschaftliche Nachwuchskräfte. Über die Vergabe der Stipendien entscheidet das Minerva Stipendienkomitee, das paritätisch mit deutschen und israelischen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern besetzt ist.

ARCHES-Preis
Seit 2008 wird vom BMBF der ARCHES-Preis (Award for Research Cooperation and Highest Excellence in Science) vergeben. Die Verwaltung des Ausschreibungs- und Auswahlverfahrens erfolgt durch die Minerva Stiftung GmbH. Der Preis wird jährlich an zwei deutsch-israelische Teams von Nachwuchswissenschaftlern (max. 40 Jahre) vergeben und ist mit insgesamt 400.000 Euro dotiert. Der Preis wird alternierend für die Forschungsfelder Natur- und Ingenieurswissenschaften, Lebenswissenschaften sowie Geistes- und Kulturwissenschaften ausgeschrieben.

Voraussetzung für die Aufnahme ins Auswahlverfahren ist die Nominierung durch eine renommierte Fachwissenschaftlerin oder einen renommierten Fachwissenschaftler des jeweiligen Gebiets. Die Auswahlentscheidung wird durch das „Minerva Fellowship Committee“ getroffen.