German-Israeli Foundation for Scientific Research and Development (GIF)

The foundation has supported basic and applied German-Israeli research projects since 1986. In addition to regular funding, a separate programme supports junior scientists.

The German-Israeli Foundation for Scientific Research and Development (GIF) was established in 1986 as an independent legal entity in Israel and is located in Jerusalem. The Foundation promotes non-military research and development programmes in fundamental and applied research. The GIF supports joint German-Israeli research projects with up to EUR 200,000 for a period of three years through its regular funding programme. Since 2000, the programme for junior scientists provides annual grants of up to EUR 40,000.

The Foundation finances its projects through the interest earned from the share capital of EUR 211 million, for which Israeli and German sources were equally responsible.

The Foundation’s governing body comprises the equal representation of trustees and includes the respective research ministers and eminent science personalities from both countries. Following the German Research Foundation’s (DFG) selection criteria, experts from Germany, Israel, and other countries are responsible for the assessment procedure for the allocation of funds.

Up to the end of 2014, the Foundation, in its regular programme, had approved 1,383 bilateral projects and, in its junior scientist programme, 378 cooperations from all science disciplines. The GIF grant programme is alternately supplemented with symposia in Germany and Israel which address current topics. The Foundation only considers joint applications by German and Israeli researchers.

For further Information on  the German-Israeli Foundation for Scientific Research and Development see.

Deutsch-Israelische Stiftung für Wissenschaftliche Forschung und Entwicklung (GIF)

Die Stiftung fördert seit 1986 deutsch-israelische Projekte der Grundlagen- und der angewandten Forschung. Neben der regulären Förderung wird der Nachwuchs in einem gesonderten Programm gefördert.

Die Deutsch-Israelische Stiftung für Wissenschaftliche Forschung und Entwicklung (GIF) wurde 1986 als eigenständige juristische Person in Israel mit Sitz in Jerusalem eingerichtet. Zweck der Stiftung ist die Förderung ziviler Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprojekte in der Grundlagen- und angewandten Forschung. In ihrem regulären Förderprogramm unterstützt GIF gemeinsame Projekte deutscher und israelischer Forscher für eine Dauer von drei Jahren mit bis zu 200.000 Euro. Seit 2000 stellt zudem das Nachwuchsprogramm Jahresstipendien von bis zu 40.000 Euro bereit.

Die Stiftung finanziert ihre Aufgaben aus den Zinserträgen des Stammkapitals von 211 Millionen Euro, das von israelischer und deutscher Seite zu gleichen Teilen aufgebracht wurde.

Entscheidungsgremium der Stiftung ist das paritätisch besetzte Kuratorium , dem die jeweiligen Forschungsminister sowie herausragende Persönlichkeiten der Wissenschaft aus beiden Ländern angehören. Am Begutachtungsverfahren für Förderentscheidungen sind Fachleute aus Deutschland, Israel und anderen Ländern beteiligt. Hierbei orientiert sich die GIF an Auswahlverfahren der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG).

Bis Ende 2014 bewilligte die Stiftung im regulären Programm 1.283 bilaterale Projekte sowie im Nachwuchsprogramm 378 Kooperationen aus allen Disziplinen der Wissenschaft. Begleitet wird das GIF-Förderprogramm von abwechselnd in Deutschland und Israel stattfindenden Symposien zu aktuellen Forschungsthemen. Anträge können bei der Stiftung nur von deutschen und israelischen Forschenden gemeinsam eingereicht werden.

Weitere Informationen zur Deutsch-Israelischen Stiftung für Wissenschaftliche Forschung und Entwicklung bieten die Webseiten der Stiftung.