Political Foundations

Public foundations, particularly political party foundations, are active in Israel.

Friedrich Ebert Foundation (FES)

The Friedrich Ebert Foundation has been the first German political foundation to be officially represented in Israel with an office there since 1978. Its first projects were conducted with partners from the organisation of trade unions, Histadrut, and with Israeli Social Democrat representatives. Since then, the Israeli FES has extended its work to include a wide spectrum of topics, such as youth research, gender studies, conflict studies, and democracy theory. The Israel office of the Friedrich Ebert Foundation works closely with many partner institutions in Israel.

Friedrich Naumann Foundation for Freedom (FNS)

The Friedrich Naumann Foundation for Freedom has been active in Israel since 1983. The educational events that the Foundation and its partners offer, comprise the classic liberal topics of individual freedom and democracy, rule of law, market economy, and human rights. These topics are related to current issues in the Middle East conflict and internal societal problems. The FNS offers Israeli students and graduates participation in its scholarship programme.

Hanns-Seidel-Stiftung (HSS)

The activities of the Hanns Seidel Foundation in Israel and the Palestinian territories focus on strengthening minorities and socially marginalised groups and on stimulating citizen-oriented governance. The HSS’s work comprises, among others, seminars, courses, discussion days, subject-specific training, further and advanced training for teachers, and citizen activities. Its partners are limited to NGOs, for example, Shatil in Israel and Al Muntada in the Palestinian autonomous regions.

Heinrich Böll Foundation (HBS)

The Israel Office of the Heinrich Böll Foundation in Tel Aviv began its work in the spring of 1998. It focuses primarily on environment protection, sustainable development, gender issues and democracy, foreign and security policy, and German-Israeli dialogue. In Israel, the Foundation collaborates with a multitude of different cooperation partners, NGOs, academic institutions, decision making bodies, and other actors (see also the self-presentation of the Foundation's Israel office.

Konrad Adenauer Foundation (KAS)

The Konrad Adenauer Foundation has been active in Israel since 1980. It focuses on strengthening democracy and the rule of law in Israel, the peaceful co-existence between Israel and its neighbours, and between the various population groups within Israel. In addition the maintenance and deepening of relations between Germany and Israel are increasingly extended to the Israeli-European dimension.

The KAS collaborates with universities and researchers from Germany and Israel in all these focus areas.The cooperation of the KAS with the Netanya Academic College, the Truman Research Institute for the Advancement of Peace at the Hebrew University, and the Jerusalem Institute for Israel Studies is specifically dedicated to the development of a peaceful co-existence in the Middle East. Since 2004, the KAS, in conjunction with the University of Tel Aviv, has maintained the Konrad Adenauer programme for Jewish-Arab Collaboration (KAP). With the Ben Gurion University’s Center for Bedouin Studies and Development in Beer Sheva, the KAS researches and supports the integration of Bedouins into Israel’s modern society. KAS, in co-operation with the Ben Gurion University in Beer Sheva and the local Adenauer division for the Study of European Politics and Society, also organises conferences and workshops on the future of Israeli European relations. The Helmut Kohl Institute for European Studies’ close collaboration with the Hebrew University also helps deepen Israeli-European understanding.  

Rosa Luxemburg Foundation (RLS)
Since 2001, the Rosa Luxemburg Foundation in Israel has collaborated with project partners there and opened an office in Tel Aviv in March 2009. The Foundation focuses primarily on supporting civil society’s democratic components. Its regional target groups and partners are socially engaged groups and civil society organisations, youth and women, trade unions, and educational associations affiliated with trade unions. Tertiary institutions, academic, and student groups are also project and cooperation partners.

Politische Stiftungen

Öffentliche Stiftungen, insbesondere die Stiftungen der politischen Parteien sind in Israel aktiv.

 

Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung (FES)

Seit 1978 ist die Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung (FES) als erste deutsche politische Stiftung offiziell mit einem Büro in Israel vertreten. Die ersten Projekte wurden mit Partnern aus dem Gewerkschaftsdachverband Histadrut und Vertretern der israelischen Sozialdemokratie durchgeführt. Seitdem hat sich die Arbeit der FES in Israel auf ein breites Spektrum von Themen wie Jugendforschung, Gender Studies, Konfliktforschung, und Demokratietheorie ausgeweitet. Dabei arbeitet das Israel-Büro der Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung eng zusammen mit einer großen Anzahl von Partnerinstitutionen im Land.

Friedrich-Naumann-Stiftung für die Freiheit (FNS)

Die Friedrich-Naumann-Stiftung für die Freiheit (FNS) ist seit 1983 in Israel tätig. Die Bildungsveranstaltungen der Stiftung und ihrer Partner umfassen klassische liberale Themen wie individuelle Freiheit und Demokratie, Rechtsstaatlichkeit, Marktwirtschaft und Menschenrechte. Sie stellen dabei auch den Bezug zu aktuellen Themen aus dem Bereich des Nahostkonflikts und zu internen gesellschaftlichen Problemen her. Die FNS bietet israelischen Studierenden und Promovierenden die Teilnahme am Stipendienprogramm der Stiftung an.

Hanns-Seidel-Stiftung (HSS)

Die Arbeit der Hanns-Seidel-Stiftung (HSS) in Israel und den palästinensischen Gebieten konzentriert sich auf die Stärkung von Minderheiten und sozialen Randgruppen sowie auf die Förderung einer bürgernahen Verwaltungspraxis. Die Arbeit der HSS beinhaltet unter anderem Seminare, Kurse, Diskussionstage, fachbezogene Bildungsmaßnahmen, Lehrerfort- und -weiterbildungen sowie Bürgeraktivitäten. Ihre Partner sind ausschließlich Nichtregierungsorganisationen wie Shatil in Israel sowie Al Muntada in den Palästinensischen Autonomiegebieten.

Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung (HBS)

Das Israelbüro der Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung in Tel Aviv nahm im Frühjahr 1998 seine Arbeit auf. Das Büro ist vorrangig tätig in den Bereichen Umweltschutz und nachhaltige Entwicklung, Geschlechterfragen und Demokratie, Außen- und Sicherheitspolitik und deutsch-israelischer Dialog.
Die Stiftung arbeitet in Israel mit einer Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Kooperationspartner wie Nichtregierungsorganisationen, akademischen Institutionen, Entscheidungsträgern und anderen Akteuren zusammen (siehe auch: Selbstdarstellung des Israelbüros der Stiftung).

Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS)

Die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung arbeitet seit 1980 in Israel. Im Vordergrund stehen dabei die Stärkung von Demokratie und Rechtsstaatlichkeit in Israel, ferner Bemühungen um eine friedliche Koexistenz zwischen Israel und seinen Nachbarn sowie unter den verschiedenen Bevölkerungsgruppen innerhalb Israels. Hinzu kommt die Pflege und Vertiefung der Beziehungen zwischen Deutschland und Israel, die zunehmend um die israelisch-europäische Dimension erweitert werden.

Bei allen genannten Themenschwerpunkten arbeitet die KAS mit Universitäten und Forscherinnen und Forschern aus Deutschland und Israel zusammen. Die Kooperation der KAS mit dem Netanya Academic College, dem Truman Research Institute for the Advancement of Peace an der Hebräischen Universität und dem Jerusalem Institute for Israel Studies widmet sich speziell der Entwicklung einer friedlichen Koexistenz im Nahen Osten. Seit 2004 unterhält die KAS gemeinsam mit der Universität Tel Aviv das Konrad-Adenauer-Programm für jüdisch-arabische Zusammenarbeit (KAP). Gemeinsam mit dem Center for Beduin Studies and Development der Ben-Gurion-Universität in Beer Sheva erforscht und unterstützt die KAS die Eingliederung von Beduinen in Israels moderne Gesellschaft. Außerdem organisiert die KAS in Kooperation mit der Ben-Gurion-Universität in Beer Sheva und der dortigen Adenauer Division for the Study of European Politics and Society Konferenzen und Workshops zur Zukunft der israelisch-europäischen Beziehungen. Ebenfalls der Vertiefung der israelisch-europäischen Verständigung dient die enge Zusammenarbeit mit dem Helmut-Kohl-Institut für Europäische Studien an der Hebräischen Universität.  

Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung (RLS)

Die Tätigkeit der Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung in Israel arbeitet seit 2002 mit Projektpartnern im Land zusammen und eröffnete im März 2009 ein Büro in Tel Aviv. Die Stiftung  ist vorrangig auf die Unterstützung demokratischer Komponenten der Zivilgesellschaft ausgerichtet. Regionale Zielgruppen und Partner sind sozial engagierte Gruppen und  Organisationen der Zivilgesellschaft, Jugendliche und Frauen sowie Gewerkschaften und gewerkschaftsnahe Bildungsvereine. Projekt- und Kooperationspartner sind auch Hochschulen, akademische und studentische Kreise.