Private Foundations

A few of the largest and most active private foundations in the cooperation with Israel are briefly introduced.

Volkswagen Foundation

The Volkswagen Foundation, which was founded in 1961, supports research cooperation between Israel and Germany in various ways. A first grant of then DM 2 million (EUR 1.02 million) went to the Weizmann Institute of Science in Rehovot for material and personnel in the area of physics and physical biology. The Foundation also specifically advanced the establishment of new institutes: the Hebrew University Jerusalem received about DM 354,000 (EUR 181,000) to found a Geography institute in 1964. In 1970, the University of Tel Aviv benefited from a grant for an Institute for International Relations and an Institute for German History. In 2004, the Volkswagen Foundation financed the pilot phase of a German innovation center at the interdisciplinary Center Herzliya, designed as Germany's scientific platform in Israel's academic world.

The Foundation's activities in Israel also include the German-Israeli exchange of scientists. Up to 1968, within the framework of a fellowship exchange programme, the Foundation had already financed the stays of more than 80 German and Israeli scientists’ at respectively the Weizmann Institute of Science and in Germany.

As part of "Niedersächsisches Vorab” (Lower Saxony First), a research support programme of the Federal State Ministry of Science and Culture, the Volkswagen Foundation has supported Lower Saxony-Israeli projects’ annual proposals since 1977. Priority partners in Israel are the Hebrew University Jerusalem and the Technion in Haifa. Research topics relate to all scientific areas, but preferably from medicine, natural science, and engineering. For further programme information, see the principles of support for Lower Saxon-Israeli research proposals of the foundation.

Bertelsmann Foundation

The interaction and exchange of young leaders are central to the Bertelsmann Foundation’s Israel-based activities. The German-Israeli Young Leaders Exchange was created in 2000 to initiate and accompany the future-oriented dialogue and co-operation between young German and Israeli leaders. The Bertelsmann Foundation also cooperates with the German-Israeli future forum as part of the X-Change for Competence programme. “Connecting Societies. Developing Leadership”, is a new format to develop Israeli and German leadership groups’ the competence.

Fritz Thyssen Foundation

The Fritz Thyssen Foundation, which is based in Cologne, was founded in 1959 and was the Federal Republic of Germany’s first large private individual foundation for the support of science after the Second World War. The Foundation offers grants to and exchange programmes with Israeli institutions, supports Israeli researchers’ projects, and Israeli researchers’ participation in related activities in Germany. The focus is on the humanities. The Foundation supports the focus on the "Molecular Fundamentals of Parkinson's Disease" at the Hebrew University Jerusalem, and, at the Weizmann Institute of Science, a project on the influence of protein production on the somatosensory system.

Minna James Heineman Foundation

The Heineman Foundation annually allocates two scholarships for young researchers to attend a Max Planck institute and the Israeli Weizmann Institute for Science. These scholarships of EUR 80,000 each are for biology, medical and biomedical studies. In addition, the James Heineman Prize of EUR 60,000 is annually awarded to a young researcher at a Max Planck institute or Weizmann Institute of Science.

Hubert Burda Foundation

The Center for Innovative Communications, was founded in 1999 and is situated at the Ben-Gurion University (BGU) in Beer Sheva, is the center of the Hubert Burda Foundation's activity in Israel. The Center facilitates the intercultural and future-oriented exchange of media scientists, entrepreneurs, and politicians.

ZEIT Foundation

The Ebelin and Gerd Bucerius ZEIT Foundation in Hamburg focuses most of its research funding in Israel on the University of Haifa. The Institute for Research of Contemporary German History and Society which they established there, allows longer research stays for junior scientists and for guest professorships. Since 2008, the Manfred Lahnstein Scholarship has been offered annually to two or three graduates of all disciplines at the University of Haifa.

Private Stiftungen

Einige der größten und in der Israel-Kooperation aktivsten privaten Stiftungen werden kurz vorgestellt.

Volkswagen-Stiftung

Die Volkswagen-Stiftung unterstützt seit ihrer Gründung im Jahre 1961 in vielfältiger Weise die Forschungskooperation zwischen Israel und Deutschland. Eine erste Förderung in Höhe von damals zwei Millionen DM (1,02 Millionen Euro) ging 1963 für Sach- und Personalmittel im Bereich Physik und Physikalische Biologie an das Weizmann Institute of Science in Rehovot. Auch die Neugründung von Instituten wurde durch die Stiftung nachdrücklich vorangetrieben: 1964 gingen etwa 354.000 DM (181.000 Euro) für die Gründung eines Instituts für Geografie an die Hebräische Universität Jerusalem. Die Universität Tel Aviv profitierte 1970 durch die Förderung eines Instituts für Internationale Beziehungen und eines Instituts für deutsche Geschichte. 2004 finanzierte die Volkswagen-Stiftung die Pilotphase eines German Innovation Center am Interdisciplinary Center Herzliya, das als wissenschaftliche Plattform Deutschlands in der akademischen Welt Israels konzipiert ist.

Die Israelaktivitäten der Stiftung umfassen auch den deutsch-israelischen Wissenschaftleraustausch. So wurden bereits in den Jahren bis 1968 im Rahmen eines Stipendiaten-Austauschprogramms über 80 Aufenthalte deutscher Forschender am Weizmann Institute of Science sowie israelischer Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler in Deutschland finanziert.

Im Rahmen des „Niedersächsischen Vorab“, eines Forschungsförderprogramms des Landesministeriums für Wissenschaft und Kultur, fördert die Volkswagen-Stiftung seit 1977 mit jährlichen Ausschreibungen niedersächsisch-israelische Projekte. Vorrangige Partner in Israel sind die Hebräische Universität Jerusalem und das Technion in Haifa. Die Forschungsthemen kommen aus allen wissenschaftlichen Gebieten, vorrangig jedoch aus der Medizin sowie den Natur- und Ingenieurwissenschaften. Weitere Programminformationen bieten die Grundsätze zur Förderung niedersächsisch-israelischer Forschungsvorhaben auf der Website.

Bertelsmann Stiftung

Im Mittelpunkt der Israelaktivitäten der Bertelsmann-Stiftung stehen die Begegnung und der Austausch
zwischen jungen Führungskräften. Dazu wurde im Jahr 2000 der Deutsch-Israelische Young Leaders Exchange ins Leben gerufen mit dem Ziel, den zukunftsorientierten Dialog und die Kooperation zwischen jüngeren deutschen und israelischen Führungskräften zu initiieren und zu begleiten. Darüber hinaus kooperiert die Bertelsmann Stiftung mit dem Deutsch-Israelischen Zukunftsforum im Programm „X-Change for Competence. Connecting Societies. Developing Leadership“, einem neuen Format zur Kompetenzentwicklung von israelischen und deutschen Führungskräften.

Fritz Thyssen Stiftung

Die Fritz Thyssen Stiftung mit Sitz in Köln wurde 1959 gegründet und ist die erste große private wissenschaftsfördernde Einzelstiftung, die nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland errichtet wurde. Die Stiftung bietet Stipendien- und Austauschprogramme mit israelischen Institutionen, fördert Projekte israelischer Forscher sowie wissenschaftliche Tagungen und Vortragsreihen in Israel und die Beteiligung israelischer Forscher an entsprechenden Aktivitäten in Deutschland. Der Förderschwerpunkt liegt im Bereich der Geisteswissenschaften. An der Hebräischen Universität Jerusalem fördert die Stiftung den Schwerpunkt „Molekulare Grundlagen der Parkinson-Krankheit“, am Weizmann Institute of Science ein Projekt zum Einfluss der Proteinproduktion auf das somatosensorische System.

Minna-James-Heineman-Stiftung

Die Heineman-Stiftung vergibt jährlich zwei Stipendien an junge Forschende an Max-Planck-Instituten und am israelischen Weizmann Institute of Science. Gefördert werden die Bereiche Biologie, Medizin und Biomedizin. Jedes der beiden Stipendien umfasst 80.000 Euro. Zudem wird jährlich der James Heineman Preis an eine oder einen junge(n) Forschende(n) an einem Max-Planck-Institut oder am Weizmann Institute of Science verliehen. Der Preis ist mit 60.000 Euro dotiert.

Hubert Burda Stiftung

Die Hubert Burda Stiftung konzentriert ihre Israelaktivitäten auf das 1999 gegründete Hubert Burda Center of Innovative Communications an der Ben-Gurion Universität in Beer Sheva. Das Center dient dem interkulturellen und zukunftsorientierten Austausch zwischen Medienwissenschaftlern, Unternehmern und Politikern.

ZEIT-Stiftung

 

Die ZEIT-Stiftung Ebelin und Gerd Bucerius in Hamburg konzentriert sich bei ihrer Wissenschaftsförderung in Israel auf die Universität Haifa. Das dort von ihr gegründete Bucerius Institute for Research of Contemporary German History and Society ermöglicht längere Forschungsaufenthalte für den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs sowie für Gastprofessorinnen und Gastprofessoren. Seit 2008 wird das Manfred Lahnstein-Stipendium ausgeschrieben. Es richtet sich jährlich an zwei bis drei Promovierende aller an der Universität Haifa vertretenen Fächer.